Author Topic: tommy fruiting problems.  (Read 1143 times)

terces

• Not So New ...
tommy fruiting problems.
« on: July 15, 2006, 22:37:59 »
Hi Everyone,

I have 12 really bushy tomatoes in my greenhouse which are very healthy but have hardy any fruit.

This is my first year and no-one seems to know what to do.  Any sugestions would be appreciated.

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
Re: tommy fruiting problems.
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2006, 09:27:28 »
What variety are they? Mine are outdoor so they're not really comparable, but some are laden and other varieties have hardly anything. Could you be overfeeding, so you get lots of leaf and no fruit?

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2006, 10:17:25 »
terces -

1. Are they meant to be bush tomatoes? If not, have you done any pinching out?
2. What are they in?
3. How far apart?
4. Do they have flowers?
5. How tall are they?
5. When were they planted out?
6. What is your watering/feeding regime?
7. Is the 'house shaded/ventilated/
etc!!

terces

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2006, 15:49:07 »
Hi,  Thanks for getting back to me.

I have been pinching out and the toms cover ranges from cherry to plum to beefsteak.
They are grown in grow bags, 3 to a bag and do have flowers.
They range from2 - 5 feet tall.
They are in a ventilated polytunnel and I water everyday.

I think Robert has hit upon the problem.  I think I have been feeding them far too much.  Do you think they will recover?

the_snail

• Hectare
  • Be Kind to Slugs and Snails! :)
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2006, 18:21:25 »
The following things could be to blame.

1. Bad polination. I like to pland marigolds to attract insects to polinate my tomatoe flowers.

2. Insuficiant watering and feeding. If you grow them in growbags then you need to water and feed alot more than you would have to if you planteed them in a open border in the greenhouse.