Author Topic: Leeks - Help.  (Read 7260 times)

keef

• Hectare
Re: Leeks - Help.
« Reply #20 on: July 10, 2006, 16:21:38 »
Dont back fill , stick the leek in the hole, then fill with water around the leek.

I havn't planted mine out yet - will proably get round to doing it this week sometime.
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
« Reply #21 on: July 10, 2006, 23:13:21 »
SS, some of mine are no more than blades of grass, but they will do the business and create that perfect continual cropping that we all strive to obtain!  ;)

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
« Reply #22 on: July 11, 2006, 06:45:40 »
Phew e-j, that's reassuring!
I assume that if my 'backfilled' leeks are successful they will be grittier than normal - extra work for the cook, otherwise no harm done. When they are stout, I'll mulch in the autumn instead of earthing up.

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #23 on: July 11, 2006, 16:27:19 »
I have been keeping an eye on this thread and have said nothing simply because I don't use the method/s used here and have (I guess) equal success.

I just cant see the point of cutting off roots, shortening leaves etc.

Then there is the other thing, are you growing 'pot' leeks or 'blanch' leeks?

For those who do not know; pot leeks are fat and the blanching is short, usually no more than 6"

Blanch leeks are as long as you desire, the object is, is to get the blanched part as long as possible.

The only thing I seem to have in common is the sowing and growing on to pencil thickness, although I don't even bother too much about thickness either.

Lets take pot leeks first, as I think this is what most of you are attempting to grow. I base this on the fact that many of you bury your leeks 6"-10" deep.