Author Topic: complete novice  (Read 1405 times)

mr plasma

• Half Acre
complete novice
« on: July 06, 2006, 19:44:42 »
hi everyone just been told i have an allotment,its 60ft x30ft and overgrown can anyone please advise me as where to begin and is it too late to plant anything this year,as i said before i am a complete novice but dont mind a bit of hard work so any suggestions will be a help thanks.
ps just joined this site and no doubt you will soon be sick of all the questions i have
thanks again

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re: complete novice
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2006, 19:50:05 »
No time or expertise to answer that but, if you SEARCH, I'm sure you'll find something to go on until someone can repeat it?

supernova

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2006, 19:57:17 »
Hi.

I`m in the same boat as you i think. Just aquired my allotment and their is tonnes of work to be done. I found someone with a Petrol strimmer to get of all the grass. My main concern is those d**n weeds (B*****S). I rekcon the best way forward is weedkiller but i`m worried that i can`t plant next year, so i`m checking that out. The best way i found was by drawing a plan and sticking to it. Set your plots out, shed,path, water barrels etc. It just gives you an idea in your head of what your doing i suppose. I know you can get some good books aslo if you check out BBC Gardening...Alan T has a few handy hints.

Barrie.

mr plasma

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2006, 20:28:10 »
thanks nova will lookat bbc titchmarsh

ACE

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2006, 20:49:53 »
Get one of those asian hoes or a mattock, they are great for clearing  overgrown plots. Hard work, mind you, so a crate of beer might also be a good idea. Most weed killers neutralise when they hit the soil and only affect the weeds they hit. They go against the grain when you want to be organic. Clear it a bit at a time and start planting straight away, still plenty of time left in the growing season.