Author Topic: feeling a bit down  (Read 3138 times)

mr plasma

• Half Acre
feeling a bit down
« on: July 07, 2006, 21:51:05 »
complete novice here. as i said in my earlier posting,i have just been offered an allotment i am seeing the site secretary this sunday to have a look at it before signing for it. i visited it tonight and looked over the fence to what appears to be a plot earmarked for me covered in bindweed. should i take it on or forget it
i have looked on the internet and the control of bindweed seems to be an impossible task i hope its not a lost cause as im  desperate for an allotment and dont know how long i will have to wait if i turn this down please advise me as what to do

Curryandchips

• Hectare
Re: feeling a bit down
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2006, 22:32:14 »
If it was not covered in bindweed, it would be covered in thistles, docks, nettles, mare's tail, couch or a host of other invasive weeds. Or possibly, like on my plot, a mixture of the lot. The essence is, that you will need to control the weed population by careful attention - but it can be done, as thousands of allotment gardeners prove all the time. The weed population always looks at its worst at this time of year, but think about the obverse, it makes lots of material for composting ...

Once you accept this basic premise, everything else is easy ...

If the plot looks suitable for your needs, then take it.

Good luck  :)
The impossible is just a journey away ...

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2006, 22:48:00 »
Bindweed is controllable, though it takes for ever to finally exterminate it. Dig out as much as you can; you won't get it all, as the roots break easily, can go really deep, and grow from the smallest bit. Keep pulling it out as it appears, and dig again when you get a chance. Keep repeating until it's gone.

moonbells

• Hectare
  • Growing up
    • Moonbells' allotment diary
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2006, 22:51:43 »