Author Topic: Swedes  (Read 1097 times)

RobinOfTheHood

• Hectare
  • South Yorks
Swedes
« on: June 26, 2006, 12:57:54 »
Everyone on our allotments tells me that they cannot grow swedes, and as this is my first attempt at them, and I have 24 in modules, does anyone have any tips?

I also have 40ish turnips, I presume that any advice would also apply to these  ???

We are on heavy clay soil, if that matters.
I hoe, I hoe, then off to work I go.

http://tapnewswire.com/

keef

• Hectare
Re: Swedes
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2006, 13:10:50 »
I grew them in modules for the first time this year - planted them out in May and there going really well now. Up till now i've sowed them direct and not had much success.

The only thing i'd say is cover them with netting if you have pigeons about (like all brassicas) - or they'll get stripped.

The small mesh green netting from Wilko's is good because the mesh it quite fine - and will probably stop cabbage white butterflys getting in aswell.
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2006, 16:14:12 »
A chap on our site told me the only way to grow swedes is with friends!  Therefore, he sows his with the rest of his brassicas, closely!  I am trying, but once again, it is looking like mine have failed.

Turnips on the other hand have done really well.  Watch the flea beetles as they will decimate the leaves early on and the plants may not recover.  I used one light dusting of derris, and they have thrived since then.  Mine were called snowball.  :)

Wicker

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2006, 20:24:15 »
We use a lot of swede- grow them every year direct into ground.  Only thing I would say is that I do sow very thickly and so have to thin pretty drastically!  May seem extravagant but it seems to work - oh and I keep the seedlings watered.