Author Topic: Allotment safety  (Read 4664 times)

duglass

Allotment safety
« on: May 10, 2006, 19:46:52 »
Hello! I'm very new to the allotment game...... 4 days exactly. My new neighbours have already started worrying me about how safe my things are in my shed. Ideally i need to leave all my equipment in there, so l don't need to bring the car every time.  Is there an insurance company that would cover me? any advice is welcome on this or any other first timer do's and don't's.

Merry Tiller

• Hectare
Re: Allotment safety
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2006, 20:00:20 »
Don't leave anything in it that you can't afford to lose, simple

weedbusta

• Hectare
  • glasgow
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2006, 20:36:29 »
hi duglass, if you really need to leave things, as i do, don't leave anything too valuable. apart from basics like a spade fork hoe etc that you know you'll be using constantly, try to leave as much as possible at home. do you have a shed? get a good padlock. how secure are the allotments? have there been a lot of break-ins? can you grow jaggies! brambles etc can provide a boundary that would be thieves don't like. if your plot looks harder to get into than the one next door they'll choose the one next door. I've had one break in, and it's horrible when it happens to you, but really they just made a mess and stole the coffee and my jaffa cakes. don't let it put you off and i hope you enjoy your allotment.

duglass

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2006, 20:46:55 »
Thank you for your advice, I'm now navigating around the A4A site a little better and found some really useful advice for first timers, some of my question have already been answered
 I want to get excited about planting and not worry to much about Safety!! ;D

Roy Bham UK

• Hectare
  • Let's press flesh
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/roybhamuk
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2006, 22:51:26 »