Author Topic: My first ever Freesia  (Read 2636 times)

Georgie

• Hectare
  • Enfield, North London
My first ever Freesia
« on: June 24, 2006, 19:59:26 »
I've always loved Freesias but I haven't tried growing them before because I assumed they were difficult.  Then this year I saw some advertised in a catalogue and decided to give them a go.  I have 20 and this is the first to open.  It smells wonderful.   ;D  G x

« Last Edit: June 24, 2006, 20:44:42 by Georgie »
'The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts.'

flossie

• Hectare
  • Lincoln
Re: My first ever Freesia
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2006, 20:43:31 »
thanks for this - you have inspired me for next year

any advice on getting started?

Georgie

• Hectare
  • Enfield, North London
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2006, 20:53:51 »
Hi Flossie.  Well I'm no expert, obviously, so I just followed my instincts.  I'm growing them in pots in a mixture of home made compost, leaf mould and a good quality bought compost for pots with a handful of chicken manure pellets for pots and some perlite.  They are in a sunny position.  The leaves have some rust damage (at least it looks like rust to me) but that hasn't affected the flowers.  I did lose one flower bud - stem eaten right through - but it was impossible to determine the culprit.  I say give them a go.   ;D

G x
'The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts.'

busy_lizzie

• Hectare
  • Izzy wizzy lets get busy! Whitley Bay, Tyne & Wear
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2006, 21:47:45 »
I love them too Georgie!  Well done! I don't think they are easy to grow so you have done really well to produce such beauties, and they do have a wonderful scent!  :) busy_lizzie
live your days not count your years

Georgie

• Hectare
  • Enfield, North London
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2006, 21:53:00 »
Thanks, Busy Lizzie.   :)

G x