Author Topic: Problem germinating atlantic giants  (Read 3136 times)

spacehopper

• Hectare
  • Its a jungle out there...
Problem germinating atlantic giants
« on: May 17, 2006, 19:55:49 »
I've now sown two lots of atlantic giants and not had a single one germinate.  :-\

Any advice?  ???

Thanks, Caz.
Make the most of today, because you'll never have it back again.

busy_lizzie

• Hectare
  • Izzy wizzy lets get busy! Whitley Bay, Tyne & Wear
Re: Problem germinating atlantic giants
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2006, 20:52:50 »
Hi Caz,  It depends on which method you have tried. I am not an expert, but I always do it the same way and it has always succeeded. Seed, pointy end down in moist compost, which is then covered in cling film and put in a hottish airing cupboard in the dark or somewhere warm and dark.  After about four or five days, they should burst out of the compost like little monsters, at which stage you put them in the light. Some of the big pumpkins, seeds are quite hard and if this is the case, you could file the edges (apart from the pointy bit) and soak in handhot water for about twenty minutes, before you do the sowing.   Good luck, I hope something works soon. busy_lizzie
live your days not count your years

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2006, 22:56:12 »
Mine took a whole month this year caz, I had given up after two weeks and just put the pot in with others in the greenhouse, after two more weeks of being ignored they decided to sprout ::)

OliveOil

• Hectare
  • Lincs
    • Phoenix Traders Forum
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2006, 10:59:57 »
I put mine on damp tissue, covered with cling film and put under the kitchen sink. A few days later they were about an inch long... Potted them up and they are going great!

Jesse

• Hectare
    • News2Share
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2006, 11:08:32 »