Author Topic: what to do with weeds?  (Read 2462 times)

legless

• Hectare
  • Cheltenham, UK
what to do with weeds?
« on: July 16, 2003, 18:26:06 »
ok, i'm very new to this and planning for my plot that i am getting in a few weeks so this may seem like a very silly question to those of you more experienced...

I have read that (obviously) you don't put perennial/ flowering weeds on your compost heap BUT no-one tells you what you're meant to do with them! ???

What do I do with the weeds? I will be clearing the plot over the winter so i will have plenty i'm sure!

any help appreciated..

Jo
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by 1077926400 »

rednipt

• I love Allotments 4 All
Re: what to do with weeds?
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2003, 23:32:23 »
I deal with tenacious weeds by keeping them seperate from the compost and then burning them. You tend to find that bonfires are allowed on allotments but generally restricted to certain days and times. The ash goes back on the plot.

Admin Dan

• Administrator
  • Not So New ...
  • Allotment Starter
    • Casa Cueva
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2003, 00:15:34 »
That's what we do as well - burn them.

Can be nice in the evening alog with a nice cold beer!

legless

• Hectare
  • Cheltenham, UK
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2003, 10:55:42 »
thanks! thats what i thought would be the answer but i wasn't sure - it just doesn't mention it in any books!

Andi

• Quarter Acre
  • WBC...gizzaplot...pleease
Re:what to do with weeds?
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2004, 11:56:21 »
I have also heard that you can put these kind of weeds in a 'hot' compost...as it can reach 70oC its supposed to kill them off.

Is this true??

aquilegia

• Hectare
  • hello!
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2004, 11:59:49 »
As long as they aren't flowering, I put them in a pile and let the slugs eat them instead of my lovely plants! They seem to go for them after they've wilted a bit.