Author Topic: Protection from frost  (Read 1468 times)

Paulines7

• Hectare
Protection from frost
« on: May 08, 2006, 12:28:57 »
Help please!!

I am going away on holiday for 2½ weeks and have a bit of a dilemma.  My son will be here looking after the cat and chickens but is not at all interested in my plants.  One year I lost all my bedding plants as he didn't water them so the following year I invested in watering kits, timers etc.    ;D

I am worried though about my outdoor tomatoes, aubs and cues.  This is my first year of growing them.  I can set up a drip feed for them but what if we have a frost?  If I put fleece over them all before I leave, will it do the plants any harm being under the fleece 24 hours a day for 2½ weeks?  The toms have small flower buds on them already.

I also want to plant out my squashes and courgettes before I leave and I can cover them with fleece but may not be able to use a drip watering system for them.  If I leave a sprinkler on the timer, will the water go through the fleece? 

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
Re: Protection from frost
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2006, 13:38:05 »
I am sure the fleece will do no harm at all for 2 weeks.  Water will get through - I leave fleece on my carrots from sowing until harvest with no problems.

So, going somewhere nice?

Paulines7

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2006, 14:10:12 »
Thanks EJ.  I have a huge roll of fleece so should be able to get everything covered.   ;D

We are taking our caravan to Scotland accompanied by our dog Meggie.   We will be staying at Killin, Bunree and Morvich.   :D

SMP1704

• Hectare
  • Isleworth, Middlesex
    • Allotment Life
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2006, 14:36:14 »
Pauline

Re the watering, I agree with EJ that enough water should get thro the fleece, but if you want belt and braces, how about this....