Author Topic: Runner Beans - how many?  (Read 4659 times)

Lottie Lady 2

• Not So New ...
Runner Beans - how many?
« on: March 31, 2006, 17:05:21 »
Hi everybody,  This is my first time on A4A and my first 'proper' year of trying to grow Veggies.  Apologies if it is a dumb question but how many Runner bean plants would you recommend to feed, say a family of 4 - without getting a glut of beans?

Many thanks

LL2x
Caution!!!!Blonde Thinking!!!!

kippers garden

• Hectare
Re: Runner Beans - how many?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2006, 17:12:50 »
I planted only 15 plants last year which all climbed up canes in a wigwam shape.  I'm the only one who likes runner beans in my family and i had more than enough for me (incl freezing some and giving some away).

Hope this gives you an idea.
This is my simple living UK blog:  http://notjustgreenfingers.wordpress.com/

Follow me if you enjoy reading it!

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2006, 17:26:20 »
We grew 25.

Hyacinth

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2006, 17:31:53 »
I've been doing some counting-on-fingers here...I'm only growing for one (ME) but like to give presents to peeps. AND I'm factoring in to your question the time that your early sown beans will produce - which equates to major production from other parts of your plot.........so, to not produce a glut for 4 persons + give all the other veggies you're going to be harvesting a chance to be equally appreciated by your family 8)...I'd hazard a guess at growing just SIX plants  now.........then stagger the sowing for another 8 summer sown plants to extend the season and give a remainder for freezing.....

Dunno know about my sums, but deffo think that 2 sowings are the way to go.....any thoughts, peeps?

Lishka

PS Tim! .... but you famously feed the Hungry Herd of Hundreds  on Sundays? LOL

glow777

• Hectare
  • up in the hills in Buxton
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2006, 17:51:00 »