Author Topic: This year so far  (Read 2774 times)

keef

• Hectare
This year so far
« on: March 31, 2006, 12:17:40 »
This year has been really frustrating so far, i'm way behind on planting beacuse its been to wet. The clocks changed last week, and i expected to do some catching up this week after work - but its rained every day... >:(

I just hope its dry enough over the weekend, as my pending list is getting bigger each week... all i've managed to get in is my onions, shallots, some parsnips and a row of broad beans that I suspect have given up trying as there no sign of them after well over a month...I blame the government. ::)
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

Hot_Potato

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
Re: This year so far
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2006, 12:30:12 »
Stop worrying Keef!!.....most of us are in the same boat- weather conditions were nationwide you know ;) but things will catch up! ok - maybe you'll have to sow your broadies again but that's gardening for you!!...did that last year 3 times with my carrots :(

don't panic!....just think - if you'd only just 'taken on' your lottie like some have....you'd be terribly excited but only just be clearing it and not even have your onions, shallots & some parsnips in....so 'stay calm'  :-*

H.P.

sweet-pea

• Hectare
  • Wisley
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2006, 13:13:21 »
I'm always behind on my planting!  Never organised enough, although I'm determined to do better this year :-)
So far I haven't managed to plant anything outdoors, still have my potatoes, shallots and onions to go in, once I've finished preparing the new beds! Oh, but I tell a lie, I did plant garlic in the autumn and that seems to be doing ok so far.
I have managed to sow some cauliflower, kohl rabi, turnip in plugs, and last night I sowed tomatoes, peppers, aubergines, courgettes, butternut squash and West Indian Pumpkin.