Author Topic: Starting off leeks  (Read 10105 times)

redimp

• Hectare
  • Colonia Domitiana Lindensium, Flavia Caesariensis
Re: Starting off leeks
« Reply #40 on: April 18, 2006, 20:07:15 »
What in people's opinion is the best early.  BTW I grow on alkaline limestone - quite well draining.
Lotty @ Lincoln (Lat:53.24, Long:-0.52, HASL:30m)

http://www.abicabeauty

keef

• Hectare
« Reply #41 on: April 18, 2006, 22:43:20 »
I always plant them straight in the ground, then transplant them later.

If the roots are all tangled together dip them in some water for a few seconds - they're a lot easier to get apart then. I think this also helps them to root properly as the roots all stay together and dont spread up the sides of the hole as you plant them.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2006, 23:41:50 by keef »
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

Merry Tiller

• Hectare
« Reply #42 on: April 18, 2006, 23:01:54 »
What in people's opinion is the best early

I'm on alkaline stony clay and "King Richard" grows very well for me

STHLMgreen

• Half Acre
    • grow things
« Reply #43 on: April 19, 2006, 00:04:00 »
my leeks look pretty much like marjrie's in the picture, only they aren't all standing up so well in their ice cream container with holes in the bottom.

this is my first time wth leeks as well. they were planted on march 3 and 16.

later, how close together can i plant them in containers? my seeds are 'tropita' and it says the rows should be 50cm and the plants should be 15 cm apart. i know this question is really more on how to convert a seed packet measurement to a bed not row arrangement, any help appreciated.
urban gardening: my humble beginnings
http://growthings.blogspot.com

greenstar

• Half Acre
  • Glasgow
« Reply #44 on: April 19, 2006, 13:53:07 »