Poll

How much do you think you know about gardening? Are you an 'Absolute Beginner' or an 'Expert'?

Absolute Beginner: What is a spade?
2 (3.3%)
Beginner Beginning to Learn: I have an Alan Titchmarsh book and I've read it cover to cover
10 (16.4%)
Middle of the Road. I know what 'chitting' means and I have tested the PH of my soil
36 (59%)
Semi-Professional: People ask me when to plant things and I'm usually right
10 (16.4%)
Absolute Expert: I am the advisor to Monty Don and I can grow a pineapple plant in a thimble
3 (4.9%)

Total Members Voted: 60

Author Topic: Are you a beginner or an expert?  (Read 6377 times)

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re: Are you a beginner or an expert?
« Reply #20 on: March 14, 2006, 06:41:42 »
Amazin - add to that list that I have TWICE pinned my foot to the ground when slamming the fork into the ground at the end of a long dig. And then tried to walk away.

Mimi

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #21 on: March 14, 2006, 07:07:53 »
I'm with Amazin' and Tim.   Can you also include in that list a scratched cornea from a twig in the left eye 8)  from bending too close to pick a daffodil.  I have never know pain like it.

myrtle

• Half Acre
« Reply #22 on: March 14, 2006, 08:16:46 »
Don't forget the 'not keeping your fingers out the way of secateurs while pruning' one. Nearly severed me digits more than once.  :o

I am an expert in my garden and allotment only.  I do things my way and it usually works but I'm always learning new tricks and trying new things out.

I don't think gardening is about expertise so much as sharing knowledge. :)

Bodolph

• Not So New ...
  • "Another day - another plant"
« Reply #23 on: March 14, 2006, 08:24:26 »
Since we are adding to the catalog of disasters; clipping an axe off you foot! While naturally wearing all the correct safety gear - shorts, t-shirt, lack of gloves and of course solid footwear - sandals!
"...Time is an illusion, lunchtime doubly so..."

djbrenton

• Hectare