Poll

How much do you think you know about gardening? Are you an 'Absolute Beginner' or an 'Expert'?

Absolute Beginner: What is a spade?
2 (3.3%)
Beginner Beginning to Learn: I have an Alan Titchmarsh book and I've read it cover to cover
10 (16.4%)
Middle of the Road. I know what 'chitting' means and I have tested the PH of my soil
36 (59%)
Semi-Professional: People ask me when to plant things and I'm usually right
10 (16.4%)
Absolute Expert: I am the advisor to Monty Don and I can grow a pineapple plant in a thimble
3 (4.9%)

Total Members Voted: 60

Author Topic: Are you a beginner or an expert?  (Read 6379 times)

Trixiebelle

• Hectare
  • You looking at me? Huh?
Are you a beginner or an expert?
« on: March 13, 2006, 15:29:02 »
HOPE YOU LIKE THIS POLL  ;D

So how much do you think you know about gardening?

I know that you can never know ‘everything about everything’ and have 100% success on an allotment, but some people must come pretty close – especially the veterans on our allotment site (that have mentored/tormented me for the past 3 years  8) ) and a few members on here.

Sometimes I think I’m a beginner and then sometimes I think I know more than I THINK I know and tentatively give advice to ‘Absolute Beginners' ... poor souls  ;)

And then I log on to A4A and WANT to give advice but feel like I can’t because there are EXPERTS on here who know more than me!

Does this make sense? Probably not!

But I fancied starting a poll.

Trixie XXX

I'm rating myself as a '3'  ;D
The Devil Invented Dandelions!

Curryandchips

• Hectare
Re: Are you a beginner or an expert?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2006, 15:35:19 »
To me it is about fun, knowledge is a bonus, and those that are more capable will be able to impart their knowledge and experience readily. I will continue as long as I enjoy growing and then eating my produce.

PS. I cheated, I have never tested the PH of my soil.
The impossible is just a journey away ...

Trixiebelle

• Hectare