Author Topic: Ex-battery hens  (Read 27849 times)

littlegem

• Acre
  • baby Evan
    • Littlegem's page
Re: Ex-battery hens
« Reply #40 on: March 27, 2006, 22:14:07 »
debs, i am so glad you buy free range eggs now, and i'm so glad that jimmies has shown the true extent of battery eggs, i hope there are so many more minds changed, and battery eggs will be a thing of the past. they don't have to be expensive, netto do them and i think they're only about 70p for 1/2 dozen, farmers markets are reasonable too

grawrc

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Edinburgh
« Reply #41 on: March 27, 2006, 22:43:06 »
I've been buying free range organic eggs for over 10 years now but I still have to really search for them in the Edinburgh area.

agapanthus

• Hectare
« Reply #42 on: April 04, 2006, 17:02:11 »
I've finally got the girls ;D They're in not too bad nick considering.
The co-ordinator said they were the best hens she had ever
collected. She rescued about 150 hens and had homes for all
of them, which was nice ;D
Have a few pics below...starting with pictures of my original
hens for comparison. :D

grawrc

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Edinburgh
« Reply #43 on: April 04, 2006, 17:11:12 »
Poor bonny wee things. :)

agapanthus

• Hectare
« Reply #44 on: April 04, 2006, 17:52:21 »
They were grawrc....but have really made themselves at home
here. It's wonderful watching them experience things for the first time.
Preening, for instance. I'm sure they hav'nt done it before...
but they knew what to do ;D Even to the point of pecking
each others preening gland!! ;D They can even scratch now...
which they obviously did'nt before ;D ;D

Merlins Mum

• Hectare
« Reply #45 on: April 04, 2006, 18:47:17 »
Ah bless them and it's good to hear they are settling in so well.  Looking forward to regular up-dates.
And are those your buff orpingtons in the first pics?

MM

agapanthus

• Hectare
« Reply #46 on: April 04, 2006, 19:17:02 »
Yes...Red and Marigold ;D

Paulines7

• Hectare