Author Topic: What makes a good Mulch?  (Read 2121 times)

pakaba

• Half Acre
  • Smile, Life's too short to worry about weeds :-)
What makes a good Mulch?
« on: February 15, 2006, 23:03:44 »
hi
I've never used a mulch before :o
It's my first proper year on the plot :D. What do you all use as a mulch and how and why do you use it.

thanks in advance :)

Pakaba
reduce, re-use, recycle.

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
Re: What makes a good Mulch?
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2006, 23:51:53 »
Grass cuttings and dead leaves. The grass cuttings are much higher in nitrogen.

windygale

• Acre
  • http://spaces.msn.com/windyspot/
    • www.rushall.org.uk
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2006, 01:20:20 »
hi pakaba, mulches can be differant things, well rotted crumbly compost, grasscuttings, paper, cardboard, carpet, black plastic, gravels, and its uses are for keeping in the moisture around plants and in the soil, keeping out light, which stops weeds from growing, kills any growing weeds, warming up the soil to speed up the growing times, a good growing medium for plants to grow in,
How to use them-- place them on your growing area, and plant through them if your plot is empty, or place them around the newly growing plant    ( but don't allow the compost to touch the stem as this can encourage rot and kill the plant)
hope this helps
windy
my allotment
heaven

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2006, 04:35:53 »
Windygale summed it up pakaba, my take is that mulch can be
e.g.
- organic (compost) or inorganic (plastic)
- light-excluding (newspaper) or nourishing (spent hops)
- winter warming (dark) or summer cooling (pale)
- permanent (gravel, woven plastic on paths) or temporary (spent straw, leaves)
- expensive (chippings) or cheap/free (coffee grounds)
or combinations of all of the above.