Author Topic: COUCH again  (Read 1853 times)

dandelion

• Hectare
    • An Vrombaut
COUCH again
« on: February 02, 2006, 12:10:36 »
I've been gardening for 15 years, but until 4 months ago I had never even heard of couch grass. While taking to my lottie neighbour, I mentioned 'the grass with white roots' as I wasn't even sure how to pronounce it ???! 'Ah,' she said , 'The COOCH.' So now I know.

Needless to say, my new half plot has a fair bit of couch  >:(! I'm halfway through digging my first bed which will be 7x1.20 metres.  I have removed the grass sods themselves, teased out all the white couch roots and dug out the docks to a depth of at least 20cm. It's painstaking and fiddly, but satisfying to see it transformed. No weed has re-grown or germinated yet. In fact, I am starting to wonder if it is just a bit too easy... Isn't couch  the devil's grass? Then I started to wonder if the fine  brown fibrous roots still left in the soil could also be couch ???  :'(??? I looked at some old threads on couch. Someone mentioned that the white stuff are rhizomes; the actual roots are fibrous and brown.

Will those fibrous roots grow new couch? And if so, will I be able to keep on top of it by hoeing ????

flowerlady

• Hectare
  • "Tug-o-Weeed!"
Re: COUCH again
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2006, 12:23:50 »
Best advice is to keep digging it out.  The WHOLE plant needs to come out!!   If you chop it up there will be millions  :o

I can't remember who said it but there is a tip here to grow turnips - they deter couch grass  ;D
To everything there is a season and a time to every purpose under heaven: a time to be born and time to die: a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted.     Ecclesiastes, 3:1-2

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2006, 14:18:32 »
just shows we all treat couch differently, I use the lazy sod method  ::) to make beds