Author Topic: How's everyones Garlic coming on ?  (Read 30078 times)

jonny211

• Acre
Re: How's everyones Garlic coming on ?
« Reply #40 on: January 25, 2006, 17:31:05 »
Hiya all,

Have I missed Garlic planting time altogether? I've just taken a plot last week and hope to get started on garlic and shallots as soon as but I'm not sure if I've missed the boat this year. Any thoughts?

Also would garlic be better off started out of the ground. As you can see I'm a novice...

Cheers!

Jon

jennym

• Hectare
  • Essex/Suffolk border
« Reply #41 on: January 25, 2006, 17:51:33 »
Well spotted Curry, At the back on the stand behind and in line with the garlic, is a tray of Red Baron onions - not quite so far advanced as the garlic, but still doing well. The other things are some of my alpines and rock plants, keeping dry for winter, and some Fatsia japonica (I think) seedlings.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2006, 17:57:13 by jennym »

amanda21

• Acre
  • 40's the new 30 - right?
    • ...and I Hate Worms!
« Reply #42 on: January 25, 2006, 18:19:36 »
I've just received my garlic from Suttons - Albigensian White - but it says plant out March-April - gutted!  Been waiting for it to arrive as I am dying to actually plant something in my new plot!   ???
http://ihateworms.blogspot.com/  - Why then do I so want an allotment?

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #43 on: January 25, 2006, 23:05:19 »
My information on Albigensian Wight (from the Garlic Farm) says plant in autumn, smaller bulb from spring planting. So evidently you can plant late, but the sooner the better. They're the experts on garlic, so put it in ASAP.

amanda21

• Acre
  • 40's the new 30 - right?
    • ...and I Hate Worms!
« Reply #44 on: January 26, 2006, 08:13:16 »
Thanks Robert - I have two bulbs so I think I will put one in now and one in when they say and see what happens.
http://ihateworms.blogspot.com/  - Why then do I so want an allotment?

MattyJC

• Half Acre
  • South Oxfordshire