Author Topic: Planting broad beans  (Read 2545 times)

rdak

Planting broad beans
« on: October 02, 2003, 13:34:56 »
Hi

I have just taken over an allotment and am a complete beginner. Will be digging the plot over the next few weeks, and wanted to start with planting some broad beans, having bought an autumn-sowing variety. Having never grown beans before, I have a few questions:
1) Is it best to start them off in pots and then transfer to the allotment?
2) Do I need a bean 'trench' as I've heard them called
3) How tall are they likely to grow and what sort of structure should I build to support them?

many thanks
rdak
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by 1077926400 »

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
Re: Planting broad beans
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2003, 16:54:27 »
Hiya rdak