Author Topic: Cloches  (Read 2579 times)

Marymary

• Hectare
  • Norwich
Cloches
« on: January 19, 2006, 21:57:23 »
A really simple question but my first so please be kind!

Last year half my squash & courgette plants got eaten by slugs before they ever got going so this year I have collected 2 litre bottles to use as mini-cloches.  My questions are
a] is this a good idea - will it work &
b] how do I use the bottles?  Do I cut them in half and use both ends or use the bottom half or the top with/without the screw top?

katynewbie

• Hectare
  • Manchester
Re: Cloches
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2006, 22:03:52 »
Mary, i am no expert but I take the top off and cut the bottom inch or so off the bottle. You can then push it into the soil so that it doesnt blow away!! Moisture still gets in the top and your baby plants are protected from the evils which fly or crawl without!

Hope thats clear enough!!

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2006, 08:38:56 »
I'm with katynewbie, use the old pop bottles to protect from slugs, wind and ... squirrels. I planted squash in the squirrels' playground last year and they pulled some of the bottle cloches up  >:(, so this year I will wedge/pin the cloches down with cut up wire coathangers to be sure  ;D. I think marrow and squash need a bit of tlc early on, this seems simple and it works. I do remove them later on if the squash want to scramble.  8)

cheddarpaul

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2006, 09:13:26 »
If you can collect the 4 or 6 pint plastic milk bottles you can cut them in half and use the top half (minus the lid) as a cloche and the bottom half for seeds....

Cheddar, Somerset

Curryandchips

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2006, 09:32:00 »
I think that the top of the pop bottles is preferred as it lets the cloche breathe, avoiding those fungal problems due to excessive humidity.
The impossible is just a journey away ...

bupster

• Hectare
    • Plot Holes