Author Topic: can i grow a banana plant outdoors?  (Read 2837 times)

legless

• Hectare
  • Cheltenham, UK
can i grow a banana plant outdoors?
« on: March 02, 2006, 12:57:43 »
not for bananas obviously!

i'd really love one, is there a hardy-ish type that will grow outdoors (will be in east anglia)?

i'm new to non- veg gardening!

Jo

Ceratonia

• Acre
  • Cambridge
    • Personal (non-allotment) blog
Re: can i grow a banana plant outdoors?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2006, 14:38:13 »
I've got a few bananas growing outdoors, in East Anglia, so it's certainly possible. They're all looking very sorry for themselves at the moment, though, so there may be one or two ex-bananas. My neighbour grows lots of them - her garden looks like a jungle plantation in summer.

Musa basjoo is the most common 'hardy' banana, but there are several others you can grow too. It is not really 'hardy' in that frost will destroy the leaves and most people give them some protection over winter, but the root system is very hardy and will regrow in spring. Wind is their enemy more than frost - it will rip leaves quite easily.

There are a few gardens open to the public in East Anglia & Essex that have quite a lot of bananas and other 'exotics' - East Ruston Old Vicarage Garden up by Norwich is quite well known.

Roy Bham UK

• Hectare
  • Let's press flesh
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/roybhamuk
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2006, 15:13:27 »
Hi Jo, I have Banana plants growing on my lottie they were doing well until the local yobs decided they looked better lying down >:( but they are coming back with avengance, they had to be wrapped in fleece as it dips well below freezing here in Brum :'(
This is a more tender Banana plant Sikkimensis hookerii in a pot in our back garden

Will Giles has a beautiful exotic garden in the east and grows massive banana plants amongst many other leafy monsters. ;D Take a peek. ;D

http://www.exoticgarden.com/the_garden.html

legless

• Hectare