Author Topic: Seaweed  (Read 2151 times)

Lottie3

• Not So New ...
Seaweed
« on: November 18, 2005, 22:08:23 »
I have heard that seaweed is really good to use. Can anyone tell me how I should use it?

Thanks

Lottie

AikenDrum

• Acre
Re: Seaweed
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2005, 22:15:18 »
I'm not an expert by any means  .. well, just 67 exams to go, but this site may be of some use.    {:¬)#

http://www.seaweed.ie/defaultfriday.html
The surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is the fact that it has never tried to contact us.

Lottie3

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2005, 22:19:26 »
Wow thanks AikenDrum

More than I could have hoped for - paying a frost seaside trip tomorrow - have lots of manure and grass mulch but wanted to try some seaweed - used it in 'bought' form this year but you know us frugal lottiers.

Thanks again for the site.

Lottie 3

AikenDrum

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2005, 22:26:17 »
My pleasure, and hopefully, yours    {:¬)#
The surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is the fact that it has never tried to contact us.

derbex

• Hectare
  • I've come about the reaping
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2005, 13:49:13 »
I collect if off the beach -best after a gale as there's lots about- when I go to visit my folks. I just bung it straight on the asparagus bed -any sand and salt can only help. That's not necessarily true for other plants though.

Last year I left it in the bin bags for too long and it was the vile-est thing I've ever smelt, and the includes a clogged kitchen soakaway and stuff we made in a chemistry lecture that was supposed to be the second worst smell on the planet :o

Jeremy

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2005, 18:22:35 »
Bladderwrack is so nostalgic. Wonder if it comes from the Jersey patois - vraic?

Thing in the Sunday papers - on potatoes - & how seaweed gives Royals their special flavour.

Robert_Brenchley