Author Topic: working in other people's gardens???  (Read 4828 times)

aquilegia

• Hectare
  • hello!
working in other people's gardens???
« on: November 11, 2005, 15:39:40 »
Hi Folks!

Please forgive me for my recent absence. I've been lurking, but it's just that time of the year when I don't feel particularly sociable and I've been thinking about a lot recently...

Mostly pondering....

How much do those of you who do charge for working in other people's gardens?

I've been thinking about offering my services a few days a week to my neighbours - just to do stuff like weeding, pruing, hoeing, digging, maybe planting small beds, etc. Nothing too huge (unless the money/project was right!) Probably starting next spring.

A lot of them do occassionally get gardeners in for the odd job, so I know there's a market. I have no professional experience or qualifications, although of course, I can show them my garden!

As we don't have a mower, I wouldn't do lawns and out of principal I wouldn't use chemicals.

Mr Aqui thinks it might be a bit awkward, working for the neighbours. But we're not hugely friendly with any of them, just say hello and maybe a few words when we pass.

I'm just fed up of being stuck in the office, but can't afford to reduce my time at work unless I have another source of income. And I'm fed up of just dreaming about things...

thoughts? experiences? etc? welcome!

Oh and what would the tax man have to say about me have a part-time normal job and working part-time self-employed?
« Last Edit: November 11, 2005, 15:59:42 by aquilegia »
gone to pot :D

kenkew

• Hectare
  • Don't look now but...
Re: working in other people's gardens???
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2005, 16:39:23 »