Author Topic: damage to allotment  (Read 3523 times)

gardening giraffe

• Quarter Acre
  • Don't you just love eating veggies!
damage to allotment
« on: October 13, 2005, 10:28:24 »
Hi Everyone

I stumbled on this site today and it looks great. Im quite new to gardening these last two years but am learning. Early this year I took on an allotment which was lovely with existing fruit bushes etc. I planted some potatoes, tomatoes, spring onions, celery etc but unfortunately the site is in a 'rough' area and every night kids get in and destroy everything so Ive not gone back there for ages. They ripped out every one of my  tomato plants just as they were ripening nicely and stamped over them,and pulled down my fence Id put around the edge, not to mention the empty bacardi breezer bottles they left there,  I was totally gutted. What do you think I should do about my plot?? There are no others available in the area but I was so enjoying it until it was ruined. Any advice would be appreciated. (the site is next to a swimming baths which is where they climb over into the site and mess about. The police are not able to do anything about the kids apparantly as they are underage)  :'(
Lisa xx

Doris_Pinks

• Hectare
Re: damage to allotment
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2005, 11:25:56 »
How sad Giraffe, lots of people on this site have similar problems over the years, it is so soul destroying.
I think what I would do is ask around your site to see if this happens on a regular basis or if it just a one off, and also go to the council or whoever is running your site and ask what they intend to do about improving security on it. I would also look around and see if there are any other allotments in you area, in case you wan't to move on.
  Good luck, would be a shame to give it up as it gives so much enjoyment.  DP
We don't inherit the earth, we only borrow it from our children.
Blog: http://www.nonsuchgardening.blogspot.com/

flowerlady

• Hectare
  • "Tug-o-Weeed!"