Author Topic: slugs  (Read 2140 times)

gingerninja38

• Quarter Acre
slugs
« on: October 12, 2005, 00:43:03 »
i started a compost heap in feb this year and its now half full (its full of kitchen waste and garden stuff) my problem is it is crawling with slugs  should i worry about them or leave them be?
and will they leave eggs in the compost which will end up in my garden when the compost is ready next spring?
thanks

keef

• Hectare
Re: slugs
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2005, 01:06:39 »
I expect it'll be alright - the heat of the compost will kill any nasties, make sure you turn it once in a while.
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

Mubgrub

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2005, 10:24:20 »
I'd just take it as a sign your heap is moist enough ;D

beejay

• Acre
  • SW London
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2005, 15:16:44 »
I just snip 'em with my secateurs if I spot them in there.

Obelixx

• Hectare
  • Vendée, France
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2005, 16:00:37 »
There are some slugs that only eat decomposing material so are in fact helping porcess your compost.   If you're not confident you have that kind in the compost, you should be able to spot and remove them if you turn the heap a few times before spreading it on the garden and if th eheap gets hot enough it will "cook" any eggs.

The ones to worry about are the ones that creep out at night and munch on your precious seedlings and treasures.
Obxx - Vendée France

Scope254

• Not So New ...
    • bensham manor allotments
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2005, 16:10:20 »
Talking of slug eggs, am I right in thinking these are the little piles of whitish eggs I  keep finding when I turn over old wooden boards?
If so, how do I kill'em off? or will the birds do it for me if I leave them exposed?