12 (30%)
No
12 (30%)
May do in future
14 (35%)
Have done in past
2 (5%)

Total Members Voted: 40

Author Topic: Scorzonera poll  (Read 4860 times)

mark_h

• Quarter Acre
Scorzonera poll
« on: October 05, 2005, 11:37:47 »
This is my first year on my lottie and Scorzonera is one of the things I've grown.   It may be a bit early but I've already dug some up and munched on it- it was delicious!   I will certainly be growing it again next year, how about everyone else?

Mark

blight

• Half Acre
Re: Scorzonera poll
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2005, 13:26:12 »
I usually leave mine in the ground throughout the winter and dig them up as required. They are still putting on weight at the moment.

dirtyfingernails

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2005, 13:27:57 »
what are scorzonera? sound delish

terrace max

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2005, 13:43:50 »
I tried to dig mine up last week but couldn't (without major bed-wrecking excavations) due to the depth of the root. At least 2 and a half foot. Therefore, might not be suitable for clay soil which grips it like a vice.

I'm going to try salsify instead next year - not for the roots but for the chards...
I travelled to a mystical time zone
but I missed my bed
so I soon came home

blight

• Half Acre
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2005, 16:41:56 »
scorzonera is also called black salsify or even vergetable oyster (scorzonera hispanica). It used to be more widely grown in England than it is nowadays.
I prefer it to salsify.
Certainly not a vegetable I would grow on heavy soil. Not only is the root fairly long but tends to snapp off when dug up.

cleo

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2005, 17:20:18 »
It`s well worth growing-I suspect it is well not known because it not best suited to commercial growing?.

And scorzonera is a bit `fiddly` to peel,where salsify got the name `vegatable oyster` is beyond me-it tastes nothing like an oyster!!

djbrenton

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments4All