Author Topic: What should I start to grow?  (Read 2131 times)

Rosyred

• Hectare
  • West London
What should I start to grow?
« on: September 15, 2005, 10:27:48 »
Hello to everyone - I'm new to all this allotment stuff only just got ours and its not ready yet as it needs to be dug over so planting out in the allotment will be done next year but i've grown runner beans in our garden again this year and they went well but what could I put in there place now? What sort of veg are people starting from seed at this time?

westsussexlottie

• Acre
Re: What should I start to grow?
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2005, 10:34:05 »
spinach, giant winter spinach, swiss chard, winter black radish, pak choi, Christmas potatoes, overwintering japanese onions...plants of cabbage, cauliflower, kale, brussels sprouts, red cabbage (you can still buy them on ebay)

probably lots more but thats all I can think of...

fbgrifter

• Acre
  • All change
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2005, 10:41:39 »
I would start at the pen and paper stage.  March is the busiest (arguably) time of the gardening year, so it would be best is your allotment is ready then.  measure the plot.  plan and perhaps biuld the beds.  think about rotation.  dig over the site removing as much perennial weed as you can.  site compost bins and water butts.  think about what you like to eat, and how much of it you want to grow (don't grow too much as that adds up to a lot of hard work).  order your seeds, again don't go mad but i like to order something 'experimental' every year (this year chick peas, next year huckleberries!).  that's more than enuf to be going on over autumn and winter, ready for spring and the sowing/planting frenzy!
It'll be better next year

reedos

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2005, 12:53:00 »
Hi Rosyred,

I'm with Wardy on this one, planning is good but nothing like growing stuff. You could try planting Japanese Onions and garlic cloves in Autumn.

carloso

• Acre
  • sprouts gimmie wind