Author Topic: scab on potatoes  (Read 3661 times)

adrianhumph

• Acre
  • Camberley, Surrey.
scab on potatoes
« on: September 06, 2005, 14:24:41 »
 Hi all,  :D
                This is my first attempt to post a picture, so fingers crossed it will work out ok. 

If you can see this, has any one got scabbier spuds than these,  ??? They are Maris Piper &  are obviously not resistant to scab at all. I have also grown pentland javelin . romano & picasso this year & they are all fine.

Adrian.

Diana

• Acre
Re: scab on potatoes
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2005, 14:32:05 »
You sure they're spuds + no moon rocks? ::)
Re vera, cara mea, mea nil refert

adrianhumph

• Acre
  • Camberley, Surrey.
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2005, 14:56:59 »
 Hi Diana,  :D
                     Very funny ha ,ha,  if you really want a laugh , i`ve got  50lbs of them :o
                               Adrian.

Diana

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2005, 15:23:43 »
Sorry Adrian I meant no offence :-\

They're still edible though aren't they?

moonbells

• Hectare
  • Growing up
    • Moonbells' allotment diary
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2005, 16:29:04 »
Blimey! I sympathise! You in a chalk area by any chance???

moonbells
Diary of my Chilterns lottie (NEW LOCATION!): http://www.moonbells.com/allotment/allotment.html

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2005, 23:00:56 »
They'll be perfectly OK to eat. Scab only affects the appearance, and if you're hungry you won't notice that.

adrianhumph

• Acre
  • Camberley, Surrey.
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2005, 07:17:45 »
 Hi all,  :D
               It`s ok Diana no offense was taken,  we have got to laugh at our efforts from time to time or this gardening lark would drive us mad  ;D
 Moonbells,  our soil is very sandy  & light, apparently ideal for scab ::)

Adrian.

christine

• Not So New ...
  • I love Allotments4All
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2005, 11:04:01 »