Author Topic: Horseradish help please.......  (Read 2891 times)

tilts

• Acre
  • Boom Boom boom Boom Esso blue!
Horseradish help please.......
« on: September 03, 2005, 17:40:42 »
Hello
As many of you know i am new to this venture, however, am very keen....i would like to make some horseradish sauce and also to have some horseradish plants on the allotment, i thought they could go along the hedge.  However, i have been given differing views on which plant on the (large) site is horseradish, I thought that it is similar leaf to dock, maybe abit more pointed, so before i go and make myself look pretty dumb wondered if anyone can help.... any help anyone please......ty.
Tread softly or you'll tread on my dreams.....Yeats

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re: Horseradish help please.......
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2005, 19:15:49 »
Yes - confusing! Just dig a root & you'll soon know?

If it's horseradish - when you grate it - preferably on a microplane - do do it in front of a fan or don't breath! And freeze roots for posterity.

And use mayo (with the vinegar), instead of cream so that it will keep.

flowerlady

• Hectare
  • "Tug-o-Weeed!"
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2005, 15:30:50 »
Hi Tilts,

Unless you really,really do want to grow it your self ...  let someone else grow it, then beg a root. ;D

Once in, it comes up all over the place!!  I believe it can grow enormous.  I took out a whale of a stump and it's still pushing up plantlets every where >:(

To everything there is a season and a time to every purpose under heaven: a time to be born and time to die: a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted.     Ecclesiastes, 3:1-2

busy_lizzie

• Hectare
  • Izzy wizzy lets get busy! Whitley Bay, Tyne & Wear
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2005, 15:50:41 »