Author Topic: Autumn Sown broad beans  (Read 3777 times)

hemajo

• Quarter Acre
Autumn Sown broad beans
« on: September 06, 2005, 10:58:23 »
I would like to sow some broad beans this autumn.  I live in Northumberland.  I am a novice at this sort of thing.  Do I sow in modules to start them and then plant out or do I sow direct?  When do I start them off and do they need any winter protection?  Sorry about all these questions :)  I only have 4 small raised veggie beds, so they will be going where my two courgette plants and runner bean wigwam are at the moment. 
Helen

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
Re: Autumn Sown broad beans
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2005, 12:45:00 »
Round here people just plant them out. If we have a real wet winter they tend to rot, but most years they're OK.

adrianhumph

• Acre
  • Camberley, Surrey.
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2005, 14:03:20 »
Hi Hemajo,  :D
                       I think you should be ok to sow direct , but make sure you grow a hardy type such as  red epicure or aquadulce.
                                                                           Adrian.

christine

• Not So New ...
  • I love Allotments4All
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2005, 14:03:42 »
They shouldn't need protecting from the cold, but the winds might knock them about a bit.  If you're not growing many, you could earth up the stems or stake the individual plants.

Diana

• Acre
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2005, 14:12:49 »
I'd sow end of sept/early oct to give them time to get a couple of inches growth before the really cold stuff.

Also beware mice if you sow direct - I lost all my first lot of peas + broad beans this year to them
Re vera, cara mea, mea nil refert

hemajo

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2005, 14:24:06 »