Author Topic: what to plant at this time of year? newbie  (Read 2759 times)

fothers

what to plant at this time of year? newbie
« on: August 12, 2005, 08:09:34 »
Our new allotment is finally (hopefully) ready for use.  What can we plant there at this time of year?

We are complete beginners so any help or ideas would be great!

Lisa

Nigella

• Quarter Acre
  • Plant it, eat it!
Re: what to plant at this time of year? newbie
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2005, 11:45:21 »
Hello and welcome  ;D

You could try planting some swiss chard - and if you are lucky it should survive the winter, winter lettuces can also be sown now.

If you can get hold of any potatoes - you can do them now as well - get them in quick and they will be ready in October !

In September you can plant hardy broad beans, onion sets (for next year), and garlic.

November is the ideal time for planting rhubarb as well. I will also be trying to grow some bulbs chervil - planting time October / November.

Check out the organic gardening catalogue - you can get quite a few ideas from there.

Enjoy !

fothers

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2005, 11:54:50 »
excellent thanks- I want to get some things in an feel that we are getting somewhere rather than it being empty all winter

:)

Moggle

• Hectare
  • My island home is waiting for me
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2005, 12:35:36 »
Might even be worth trying some dwarf french beans? I sowed some just a couple of weeks ago.
Lottie-less until I can afford a house with it's own garden.

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2005, 13:04:14 »