Author Topic: help -flooding from local sewage plant  (Read 1823 times)

Joym

help -flooding from local sewage plant
« on: August 01, 2005, 12:51:42 »
hi

I'm new to the message board but wondered if any of you could help with our problem. Last week the sewage plant that backs on to our allotments had a blockage and 11 of the plots ended up a six inches deep in the dirty water they pump out of the settling tanks.  It sounds grim and it smells pretty bad but is possibly not as bad as it seemed at first.  The water board have told us that in three weeks we won't know anything has happened but some people, understandably, are concerned about their plots. A friend who has worked for a water company tells me the crops should be Ok to eat if we wash them carefully (the bugs, e-coli included, will die if exposed to the sunlight). It sounds pretty horrible and I'm not sure I will eat all of it but at least it sounds better than it did on Saturday.  My question is does anybody have on tips on how to get things back to normal?  The ground is totally saturated but is relatively free draining should we just hose things off and wait for some sun.  Will the permanent plants ( fruit bushes etc )  be ok if they have had there roots in water for about 5 days?

Cheers

Mel
 Ps The water authority will not accept liability - it took them nearly 8 hours to get someone in to sort out the problem - but will give compensation. Seems a bit of a contradiction really.  The environment agency will take no action because the water did not hit the nearby drainage culverts.

jennym

• Hectare
  • Essex/Suffolk border
Re: help -flooding from local sewage plant
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2005, 13:20:22 »
The fruit bushes will be OK.
Personally, I wouldn't eat lettuce or anything else that's flimsy, but cabbage, root crops, beans, toms etc should be OK but just to make sure I would hose them down a couple of times at least and again wash once picked.

Squirt