Author Topic: carrots  (Read 2028 times)

pumpkin

• Not So New ...
carrots
« on: July 02, 2005, 00:28:04 »
this is my first year at growing veg  i have to use my back garden at the moment as there is a waiting list where i live
any i sowed loads of stuff and lost a lot due to snails and the hot weather
wat i did do was sow my carrots in a bucket  got a lot of greenery  but cannot tell how well the carrots are growing  when can you harvest carrots and is it true that after may there is less chance of carrot root fly  my other successfull grower is runner beans in a trough they are showing signs off flowers   thanks   :)

Icyberjunkie

• Hectare
  • Doh..I got a slug farm,a flea beetle heaven..doh!
Re: carrots
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2005, 18:17:12 »
Not sure on the scientific or experienced answer Pumpkin as this is my first year on a lottie.  But i found that by gently uncovering soil around the carrot you coulod see the top of the root and from the diameter guess the length.  I grew Nantes early and a top diameter fo about a 10p piece equaled a root 6 to 8 inches long.  Hope that helps.  Iain
Neil (The Young Ones) once said "You plant the seed, the seed grows, you harvest the seed....You plant the seed....."   if only it was that simple!!!

weedgrower

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2005, 20:22:41 »
hi
just pull one carrot every month to see how they are doing. it wont go to waste as you can always eat it
                                                          weedgrower
takes over your life doesn't it

Kepouros

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2005, 21:13:56 »
Pumpkin, as to the carrot fly part of your question, NO, it is definitely not true.  The old belief that carrot fly had 2 flight periods each summer is now well out of date.  In most districts there are 3, and in areas where carrot fly infestation is bad, or in dry summers, fly activity may be expected throughout most of the summer until late August/September.

kenkew

• Hectare