Author Topic: colour printers -  (Read 6812 times)

ava_banana

• Acre
  • EmmaJane's handyman
Re: colour printers -
« Reply #20 on: January 02, 2004, 03:44:04 »
Tim,

sorry I didn't see this post earlier..............however, there has been some really good advice and experience on this post.

I work in the Printing Industry (on the Digital Printing side), and although our printers are a little larger than the "desktop" models, I can give you an indication of Industry costs and charges.

(Although, you could always give KallKwik a try, they will give you quotes over the phone for colour prints, you could base your charges on those).

We charge 15p - 50p per A4 single-sided page of colour printing.

The variables tend to be the stock that is to be printed on (some of the heavy card stock, labels or acetate sheets are quite expensive) and the quantity that will be printed (economy of scale and all that).

Some companies will charge a "set-up" fee, depending on how the job is presented and whether scanning needs to be done etc etc...............(although I have just re-read your original post and see that you ask for "ink alone" costs).

We tend to get charged by "Xerox" about 5p per A4 colour image, this just tends to be for the "ink" (toner).

Alternatively, you could look at it another way......if you approximated a "set" of inks at around £25..........as you pointed out earlier......it would depend on how many images you achieved......

Thinking aloud....100 pages would work out at 25p per page (ink alone), 200 pages - 12.5p, 300 pages - 8.33p, etc, etc.....

I don't think it unreasonable to assume that based on an average coverage of ink, you should get at least 100 pages printed per cartridge "fill", if that were so, I reckon 25p is a good starting point.........bearing in mind that is what a person would have to pay, should they go to a high-street copy shop (plus set-up, normally £1 per page, plus scanning if necessary.......etc).