Author Topic: How do you know....  (Read 1925 times)

Piglottie

• Half Acre
How do you know....
« on: July 07, 2005, 23:05:39 »
how many of each plant you need?  As this is my first year growing, I have no idea how much of each crop to plant.  I know its one of those things that you probably learn over time, but none of the books I have give much of an indication of how much to plant.  Courgettes for example, I have 4 (well, 3 healthy, one in intensive care  :) ) - which I thought didn't sound much for 2 of us, but apparently will probably be plenty.  Potatoes - haven't a clue how many to grow.  Does any one know where I can get some sort of idea from?  Any advice greatly appreciated.

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
Re: How do you know....
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2005, 23:09:01 »
I am sure there are guides, but I can't help you with that I'm afraid.  I tend to grow loads of everything, which allows for the pests and diseases to take their toll, loads for me to do baking and experimenting with, and plenty to give to friends and family and make me feel all smug and warm inside!  ;D  Things that we don't eat in abundance, or if I am the only person I know that likes them, like broadbeans, then I just grow a few plants, but beetroot, which I adore, and so does my mum, I grow row upon row of! ;D  No help at all, sorry!  ;D ;D

Piglottie

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2005, 23:16:08 »
No EJ - much help you are (sounding like Yoda for some strange reason!).  I suppose I was wondering if there was some mythical formula that I was unaware of, but like you am just growing a lot of what I like - please remember to remind me that I like runner beans when we (hopefully) begin to harvest my monster row  ;D

redimp

• Hectare
  • Colonia Domitiana Lindensium, Flavia Caesariensis
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2005, 23:33:56 »
Could I have a look at those please? - they sound interesting  :)
Lotty @ Lincoln (Lat:53.24, Long:-0.52, HASL:30m)

http://www.abicabeauty

Lazybones

• Half Acre