Author Topic: Sweet peas  (Read 5384 times)

smartie

• Not So New ...
Sweet peas
« on: May 27, 2005, 16:48:21 »
Sorry, I am about to show my total newbie ignorance here......

I have always absolutely adored sweet peas and now that I have somewhere to plant them I am sorely tempted, even though my lottie is intended for veg. I know I won't be able to grow them from seed now, but if I bought some young plants or something from a garden centre would they have a chance of surviving if planted out now?
Is it even too late for sweet peas, I think they flower about now (I can't remember as no-one I know has grown them since I was about 8 years old!!) Will they even still be on sale anywhere?
I know this is something I can research and look into when I get home tonight, but I thought someone might be able to help in the mean-time?

Ohhh I can't wait till I know all this stuff.....!  :-\

Palustris

• Hectare
Re: Sweet peas
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2005, 17:36:37 »
It is not too late to plant them out, but it is almost certainly too late to buy any. They would just flower that little bit later than normal and probably not grow as tall, but if you see them, try them!
Gardening is the great leveller.

undercarriage plan

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2005, 22:32:29 »
They were still to be had in our local garden centre, probably last weekend you could get them.  Hope you find some. Enjoy.  Lottie

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2005, 23:03:33 »
I only planted mine out today up here in the frozen north.  I bet you can get plants at your local garden centre or someone local selling them.  I'm in Derbyshire so folks have only started planting out this week so we have stuff in our garden centres now for planting out

I've grown mine from seed put into toilets rolls.  They've made lovely plants with great roots which have grown through the rolls and out of the bottom

I hope they make lovely plants.  They'd better smell gorgeous or I want my money back  :)