Author Topic: Greenhouse Toms + Grape Vines  (Read 3043 times)

Rox

• Half Acre
Greenhouse Toms + Grape Vines
« on: May 31, 2005, 10:41:27 »
Hi everyone! I only have a mini plastic greenhouse at home, but my OH's work has a large proper greenhouse where the owner has kindly offered to let us put our tom plants as we have neither greenhouse nor remaining space at home! Thing is, there are grape vines growing in the greenhouse - I imagine come summer this might be helpful in providing a natural "shading" so the toms don't scorch and overheat, but I'm wondering whether anyone else has experience with this type of set up as this is my first year growing greenhouse toms, and I don't want it to go badly. (i.e., I'm thinking of enough light, sun etc  to grow them successfully in these conditions). In case it's relevant, there are 2 varieties in question:both are bush/determinate and early cropping - Sub-Artic Plenty and Red Alert. I am keeping my dwarf toms at home for security!  :D

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
Re: Greenhouse Toms + Grape Vines
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2005, 18:02:25 »
I would imagine they would do just fine!  I have used squashes and runner beans in the past to provide 'natural' shading for my greenhouse and they have worked very well.  I guess the only risk would be the pests...don't know much about grapes and the pests they suffer from.  What we need is a grape growing expert!  Anyone?

Rox

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2005, 09:34:45 »
thx EJ  :D - have planted them in the GH now, so fingers crossed! I'm reassured by your own experiences with the runners and courgettes, so decided to give it a go. will let you know how I got on. ;)

littlegem

• Acre
  • baby Evan
    • Littlegem's page
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2005, 13:07:12 »