Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
Allotment Movement / Disabled Access to Allotments
« Last post by SirLanceShallot on Yesterday at 15:50:54 »
Hi - I'm new. I'm a freelance writer and director of a community interest company, Growing Together Cornwall CIC.

I have been an allotment holder in Cornwall for about 5 years. 3 years ago I was diagnosed with colorectal cancer. As a result of treatment I am permanently disabled. This year we decided we could no longer stay on top of our plot and reluctantly gave it up. We had hoped that we might get an accessible plot (there are some raised beds near the parking) but they are in such a state and the ground around them so uneven we decided not to bother. It didn't help that we were told we couldn't have a shed to store tools along with being given a list of things we weren't allowed to do.

I am posting here because I am writing a feature for a national magazine about the state of accessibility of allotments. I have a had a good look through historical posts on here and it is clearly something that has been raised and has been a cause for concern. I would be most grateful for any insight members might give on the state of play with accessibility on allotments. I would also very much like to hear from any disabled allotment holders about your experiences, be they positive or, like mine, rather poor!

Many thanks.

Chillies Ahoy / Re: Pepper re-do
« Last post by Tee Gee on March 25, 2024, 11:13:05 »
Sorry to hear about your Habaneros Vetivert. 

I am convinced that peat free composts often have ph values that are far from ideal for tiny plants.  Depending on what substitutes are being used.  This could account for some seedlings perishing.  We don't normally measure the ph of a bag of peat free compost, but maybe we should.   A speedy repot in different compost may be worth a try for the remaining ones.

An alternative would be to wrap the rest of the Habanero seeds well, put them in the freezer and start early next year.