Author Topic: giant pkn time again  (Read 34028 times)

Steve.

• Half Acre
    • The Nook
Re: giant pkn time again
« Reply #160 on: October 04, 2011, 14:57:04 »
Nice one Pete.. ;D

Steve...:)
"The Nook"

Photo's copyright ©Steve Randles, however if you want one, please ask.

pete JB

• Half Acre
« Reply #161 on: October 04, 2011, 23:21:13 »
A BEGINNERS GUIDE TO GROWING ATLANTIC GIANT PUMPKINS.

Hi there !

My name is Peter Bragg and I grow Atlantic giant pumpkins in the north of England (Cumbria to be exact). I have been growing regular veg on my allotment for around 6 years and grew in my garden at home prior to that. I have been growing giant pumpkins for around 5 years and have learned lots about their cultivation along the way.

There is lots of information out there which relates to growing these plants and lots of it is confusing and contradictory. The aim of this piece is to introduce beginners to the art of pumpkin growing and lay down some basic guidelines which will hopefully ensure success when trying this for the 1st time.

I will break the piece down into 7 sections.

1, Seeds
2, Ground prep
3, Seed Starting
4, Transplanting
5, Plant Care
6, Pollination
7, Feeding

SEEDS

Atlantic Giant Seeds which you can buy from the garden centre will give you success when trying to grow a medium size pumpkin (up to 100 Lbs) but if you want to grow a really large one you will need to obtain seeds from a grower. This might sound a little daunting but growers will gladly give you their seeds for nothing. There are so many good seed stocks out there that a grower wants to see his or her seeds “hit the dirt”. Visit a site like www.bigpumpkins.com. They have a message board and people will send you seeds for free. All you need to do is send them a stamped addressed bubble envelope. It really is that simple !

GROUND PREP