Author Topic: Campden tablets......  (Read 2606 times)

Jokerman

• Half Acre
Campden tablets......
« on: November 18, 2010, 18:24:36 »
I am very new to winemaking and totally confused by the little white pills.....

Some say to add them after racking the wine, others say to add as you prepare the must and others say to just add after the final racking......

Where and when should they be used? Surely if they are used at the beginning or after the first racking they will kill the yeast and stop my wine fermenting? Or am I totally wrong.....

Made some plum wine about 2 months ago, and it hasn't finished fermenting yet. Am gonna rack it tomorrow as there is a lot of thick sediment at the bottom.... should I add a tablet or not?

sorry for being dull.... but there are so many contradictions when I google it.  :(

Lee
“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.” ~ Tolkien

BarriedaleNick

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Cartaxo, Portugal
    • Barriedale Allotments
Re: Campden tablets......
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2010, 18:49:30 »
I only tend to make kit wines now but..

You can add a tablet to the must to prevent the growth of wild yeast and give the wine yeast a clean slate BUT you must give it time for the sulphur dioxide to dissapate before addin the wine yeast. You dont want to add a tablet if the wine is still in active fermantation as it will stop the yeast growing (some say it will kill the yeasts but it seems to be a bone of contention).

Once a wine has stopped fermenting you add a tablet to stop any wild yeasts getting in and fermenting and to kill off bacteria that may get in - thus helping the wine to clear and prevent it spoiling.  Whether or not to add at every susequent racking will depend on how long between racks but to much sulphur dioxide is not a good thing.

I would taste a little and if there are no problems - leave it alone and keep your eye on it.