Author Topic: Manure?  (Read 3518 times)

lushy86

• Hectare
Manure?
« on: July 14, 2009, 20:45:40 »
I think I may have made a basic mistake.... We got a lovely load of manure from a local stables it was meant to be well rotted but I could see hay and hair in it.  I used it on the bed for my runners and made a sort of hot bed for my courgettes with just the manure.  Well the beans curled up and looked awful and the leaves on the courgettes are not flat but kind of half curled up though I am getting fruit - is this because the manure was too new?
I had planned to cover the whole plot in manure over winter and not grow anything in preparation for the spring as this is my first year and things have not been organised properly but now I wonder if this is wise, a neighbour said she wont use manure till it has sat in her heap for a couple of years - help!

Lushy x

Make mine a large one!

ceres

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
Re: Manure?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2009, 21:04:43 »
No, it's not because the manure was too fresh.  It's because it was contaminated with aminopyralid.

muddylou

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2009, 21:15:35 »
Can't help if the manure is contaminated, but as to covering the plot over winter with manure, I covered my plot with fresh manure and straw last winter (my first year).
        I was told by some that I would have to "scrape it off" before I planted in spring. Anyway I just dug it in before planting and have had some really good stuff including carrots and parsnip.

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2009, 21:16:35 »
No, it's not because the manure was too fresh.  It's because it was contaminated with aminopyralid.

Thats a rather broad statement Ceres!

Although I don't disagree with you I would have to add that there are a number of other things it could be as well.

For example;

Lushy says;

made a sort of hot bed