Author Topic: Hello From A Newbie :)  (Read 7023 times)

ceres

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
Re: Hello From A Newbie :)
« Reply #20 on: June 24, 2009, 12:42:17 »
Hello thanks for the heads up on the blight lol I told you I was a newbie ha ha ha, seems like a gret service that site offers am going to register, am now thinking of throwing some main crop potatoes in the very clay'y parts in the hop it will break some of it up, with the best will in the world on my own there is now way all the beds are going to be created and filled quickly so might be a good way of doing a bit of soil conditioning??

It's too late for maincrop potatoes now, there isn't enough of the growing season left.  You could try some second earlies for Christmas potatoes which will crop in around 10-12 weeks.  It's a fallacy that potatoes break up the ground.  It's YOU that breaks up the ground when you prepare it for planting, earth them up and harvest them.

Dig some small beds and get planting.  There's nothing like seeing (and tasting) your crops to motivate.  You should still be able to buy courgette and squash plants and they are great ground cover.  You can sow over-wintering brassica seeds or buy plants.  There is plenty of time to get sowings of carrots, salad leaves, spring onions, radishes etc.  Oriental salads like pak choi can be sown soon.  Then into the autumn you can put in garlic, onion sets and into winter broad beans and peas.  Autumn into winter is the time to put in fruit trees and bushes so get those beds ready in time.

littlebabybird

• Hectare
« Reply #21 on: June 24, 2009, 13:04:14 »

BarriedaleNick

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Cartaxo, Portugal
    • Barriedale Allotments
« Reply #22 on: June 24, 2009, 13:12:26 »
Damaged scaff boards cant be sold cos of the good old Health and safety regs  >:(