Author Topic: Really basic stuff... like REALLY basic!!!  (Read 3481 times)

SteveH

• Not So New ...
Really basic stuff... like REALLY basic!!!
« on: March 23, 2009, 22:05:22 »
Hi,

I am new here (first post). I'm in the UK (Wales actually) and am thinking to get an allotment (*). Daft not to really - we have them right behind our house ... like RIGHT behind our house and accessible through our garden!

Trouble is, I don't know where to start!!! :-\

It's March now - can I start one up now? Or rather, is it worth starting one up now ... or maybe better to wait until some other season? I'd like to start soon-ish to ease myself in with some good weather to work in.

Also, I am not blessed with green fingers so am something of a novice there too (but I guess we all start somewhere). So I'd need something fairly simple at first (also, something with a quick return and not something that won't be ready until, say, November - that would be quite de-motivating for a total newbie!).

Some details on the allotments behind us...

Nasty, nasty, thick clay soil that can break industrial rotivators!!!

On a very exposed hill that gets a fair bit of rain down it during wet weather and a nasty wind that blows down it when it's blowy.

It's a successful field though and there are some great allotments there growing fantastic stuff. Here are some photos taken recently in the snow.

That's our garden fence at the top of our garden in the second one with the allotments directly behind.

So what I am thinking is...