Author Topic: The Eglu - chickens  (Read 3429 times)

Sarah V Bertram

• Not So New ...
The Eglu - chickens
« on: August 04, 2004, 11:30:30 »
Read about this recently. Has anyone had any experience of this new fangled gadget for keeping a couple of hens in the back garden? Would love to keep hens but husband is resistant - will try to wear him down by Spring - and am complete novice hen-wise. Have asked one or two other contacts about hens, but they are pukka country people with wooden hen-house arrangements which sound fab, but I need to start small I think.

Any Eglu owners out there?

Chantenay

• Half Acre
Re:The Eglu - chickens
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2004, 15:07:33 »
Please answer someone - I want to know too!!!!!
Chantenay.

adamhill100

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2004, 16:34:46 »
Looked really good until I saw the price at £365 with two hens..

Jesse

• Hectare
    • News2Share
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2004, 20:53:20 »
I saw the Eglu and was also dead keen on it until I saw the price!  :o

Husband is building my hen house and he too is reluctant about getting hens, worried they'll make a mess on the lawn as I plan to have them free range most of the time. Bet he'll change his mind once we start getting fresh eggs!

My opinion on the Eglu, it looks great, is fox proof and easily moveable. But at the price, unless you want to make a statement, I think you can do equally as good at a much lower cost elsewhere.

Have you looked at Forsham Cottage Arks, they have a great range to suit all sizes and budgets.
Green fingers are the extension of a verdant heart - Russell Page

http://www.news2share.co.uk

Palustris

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2004, 21:34:42 »