Author Topic: help with raised beds  (Read 3727 times)

mpdjulie

• Acre
help with raised beds
« on: July 24, 2008, 15:31:06 »
I have had an unsuccessful season growing my veg.  It's my first time and I've made a few mistakes which I have learned from.  This Summer, Autumn and Winter I am going to dig over all my allotment and build raised beds.  My allotment was previously covered in weeds and ALOT of brambles.  I am going to lay weed fabric and then cover that with bark chippings to form all my walkways.  What can I do to stop weeds and brambles growing back over other then weeding constantly in my raised beds? I was thinking maybe I could use some kind of weedkiller that would be non reactive by next spring time ready for sowing and planting again.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Fork

• Hectare
  • Amber valley,Derbyshire
Re: help with raised beds
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2008, 15:45:32 »
You need to dig out as much bramble as possible.It is very strong and wont take long to break through the membrane.

A possible weedkiller that may help you is called SBK,its for the tougher things like brambles etc.
You can pick your friends, and you can pick your nose, but you can't pick your friends nose

mpdjulie

• Acre
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2008, 15:47:19 »
does SBK stand for anything in particular and where would i buy it from?

Sparkly

• Hectare
    • Flixton Band (Manchester)
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2008, 16:31:51 »
We took on an overgrown plot that was covered with bindweed and brambles.The brambles we managed to dig out. It was quite heavy work, but we have managed to get most of them. When a shoot appears I just dig it up and we have only had a few come through. The bindweed is another matter though!

This was what our plot was like originally:

http://bp2.blogger.com/_SXMv2XhorB4/R91f0acefEI/AAAAAAAAADg/E9PHowFa2p8/s1600-h/IMG_1698.jpg

This was the same area after we had dug out the brambles and as much of the bindweed we could find: