Author Topic: Can I convert it into a compost bin?  (Read 9202 times)

EmmaLou

• Half Acre
    • www.peachpicture.co.uk
Can I convert it into a compost bin?
« on: November 01, 2005, 21:38:41 »
I have an old plastic bin (we've all been given wheelie bins now) and I was wondering if it could be converted into a compost bin? At the moment it is behind my shed at home, but I'm sure it could be put to use on my lottie.

Also pondered other uses:

Water butt?
Grow spuds in it?

What do other people use their old bins for?

myrtle

• Half Acre
Re: Can I convert it into a compost bin?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2005, 21:46:04 »
I've been using an old red dustbin for about 20 years as a compost bin. It works really well!  Turn it upside down, cut out the bottom ( I use this bit on top of the stuff in the bin) place it over a patch of soil (upside down) and use the lid on top.

redimp

• Hectare
  • Colonia Domitiana Lindensium, Flavia Caesariensis
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2005, 21:47:03 »
If you want to use it as a compost bin you will need to chop the bottom off it.  For potatoes, you will need to put some drainage holes in the bottom.  I personally think I would go the potato route as it is probably a bit small as a compost bin or water butt.
Lotty @ Lincoln (Lat:53.24, Long:-0.52, HASL:30m)

http://www.abicabeauty

EmmaLou

• Half Acre
    • www.peachpicture.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2005, 22:01:15 »
Great advice!

Maybe I will stick to making a composter from old pallets? Not really sure how many compost bins I would need for my half plot?

EmmaLou

• Half Acre
    • www.peachpicture.co.uk
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2005, 22:18:23 »
Would it be worth buying the cheap ones through my local council?

EmmaLou

• Half Acre
    • www.peachpicture.co.uk
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2005, 22:27:28 »
Cost £9 through our Council! Blooming cheek!

AikenDrum

• Acre
« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2005, 22:32:01 »