Author Topic: My first allotment!!  (Read 6457 times)

brica

• My Blog
My first allotment!!
« on: October 30, 2005, 00:06:53 »
Hello all,

I'm about to get my first allotment, I'm so excited!!

I've got a choice of about 3 or 4 plots, and I was wondering if anyone has any pearls of wisdom which I should consider when choosing my plot please?

Any help would be very much appreciated, as I'm a very green newbie!

Also, what a great forum this is.  Well done everyone for contributing.  I hope to be a member for a long time and to help others in any way I can.

Look forward to your replies,

Brica

flowerlady

• Hectare
  • "Tug-o-Weeed!"
Re: My first allotment!!
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2005, 00:20:29 »
Hello Brica,

Welcome to the site.

Choose the one closest to the water butt  ;D

Good luck!
To everything there is a season and a time to every purpose under heaven: a time to be born and time to die: a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted.     Ecclesiastes, 3:1-2

adam04

• Hectare
  • Who are you?
    • FedEx VG
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2005, 00:36:00 »
dont just look at the hieght of the weeds. see what weeds thye are. if there couch grass, leave alone. if 6ft high grass, go for it, much easier to clear than couch grass.

Also see if any have greenhouses or sheds already on them. also, closness to water. how much privacy you have.

the soil condition, amount of rubbish etc.

Icyberjunkie

• Hectare
  • Doh..I got a slug farm,a flea beetle heaven..doh!
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2005, 06:53:27 »
Very good advice on weeds but also have a look at whats around the possible plots i.e any weeds that you want to avoid that could spread to your plot?  The  ideal you want is all surrounding plots well looked after. 

Is it easy to access for the times you have heaps of stuff to carry from the car.

If potentially unsecure stay away from boundaries

Are neighbouring trees going to to shade the plot - if so avoid